Rose Colored Glasses Review

Are all book and movie reviews essentially the same?  Sometimes I feel like I leave a movie theater, or close a book, and do not understand what all the hullaballoo was all about.  What is it that I’m missing?  It’s a sad fact, but the majority of reviewers tend to be male and, not to hate on men (trust me, they’ll be just fine), sometimes it feels as though they all have a similar opinion; especially when it comes to the next big block-buster or best-seller.  Ever feel like you’re the only one who just didn’t get it?

I love a good block-buster, and there are books I’ve gobbled up in a day, but sometimes when I leave a movie theater I realize that, even in 2016, the only female character was relegated to a stereotype.  Ever heard of The Bechdel Test?  Turns out it’s a lot harder than you’d think to find movies that include more than 1 female character, who speak to each other, about something other than a man.  Like, really hard.  And that’s a fairly simple test.  I don’t go into many movies expecting to be let down, but I’m not gonna gloss over the fact that if you have 20 speaking parts, and 19 of them are male, maybe there’s room for improvement.

But this blog is called “Rose Colored Glasses”, and I’m not trying to find the negative or be nit-picky; this is about a different view, on films and novels (maybe even a good bottle of Rosé), and how I feel when I put down the book or leave the movie theater.  For better or worse.  And remember, at the end of the day, sometimes a bottle of wine and a good discussion makes life a little more enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

