There Are Worse Things I Could Do / “Grease”

I love Grease.  Let me make sure you understand.  I.  Love.  Grease.  The play.  The movie.  The songs.  It’s fun, it’s tongue-in-cheek, and it’s definitely a throwback.

Grease-the-Movie.jpg

But something I’ve recently been rolling around in my mind: Why does Sandy end up changing, while Danny (ultimately) stays the same?

Now, of course, Danny does his whole ‘I’m gonna join a sports team and be a good guy’ routine.  High-jinks ensue, obviously.  But at the end of the day, (and the end of the movie) Sandy shows up in sky-high heels, skinny black attire, and a new ‘do’; while Danny simply shrugs off his Letterman jacket and he’s back to his old self.  Sure, he’s matured and grown in his attempt to win Sandy back (remind me again the lessons he learns).  But the fact remains that Sandy goes from one extreme to another in order fit in with Danny’s crew, rather than meeting him half-way.

Sometimes I feel like I’m trying to see the negative in everything.  “Maybe I’m being too nick-picky” I think to myself, “maybe I’m going on a feminist rant.  Grease is a great movie, and Rizzo’s solo is one for the ages.”  Then I remember that even amazing movies like Grease have some really crappy morals snuck in under all that jazz: change everything about yourself, become cool, and you’ll be accepted, loved, and get the guy.

Maybe the original Sandy had a stick up her ass, and maybe she needed to let her hair down a bit (figuratively and literally), but ultimately she changed her entire personality and wardrobe for a guy.  That’s kind of a bummer.

Bechdel Test: Huge Pass! Have you seen the Pink Ladies?!

To See or Not to See: It’s a Classic, definitely a Must See.  But it’s also dated, and it’s okay to see the flaws.

Leave a Reply

